Garage and Tselinny Teen Weeks: Online Workshops for Teenagers with Kazakhstani and Russian Artists

2
Lesson 2: Theater under Cameras with Anna and Vitaly Cherepanov

July 18, Saturday
17:00 – 18:00
An ongoing project launched by Anna and Vitaly Cherepanov in 2014, Theater under Cameras is a series of videos shot on city webcams. In 2019, the project was shortlisted for the Innovation Prize—Russia’s state award in contemporary art. Most of the videos document the Cherepanovs’ own performances, but some of them have captured other people, animals, or weather phenomena.

The artists will present their videos and speak about the making of Theater under Cameras, explain how similar videos can be produced, and offer several simple scenarios for collective actions or performances that can be shot using a program. Three days after the workshop, participants will be sent a link to an edited video.
Anna and Vitaly Cherepanov
work as a duo as well as independently under various names, including Cick in Dunt, Tagil Group, Yugo-Zapad [Southwest], and Beskonechny Chastny Sektor [Endless Private Sector]. Their practice encompasses performance, video art, installation, street art, and painting. They are known for their self-organized projects involving many other artists as well as for their research into art communities and street art. They collect works by contemporary artists and have taken part in the 4th and 5th Ural Industrial Biennials. They live and work in Yekaterinburg.
Anna and Vitaly Cherepanov
work as a duo as well as independently under various names, including Cick in Dunt, Tagil Group, Yugo-Zapad [Southwest], and Beskonechny Chastny Sektor [Endless Private Sector]. Their practice encompasses performance, video art, installation, street art, and painting. They are known for their self-organized projects involving many other artists as well as for their research into art communities and street art. They collect works by contemporary artists and have taken part in the 4th and 5th Ural Industrial Biennials. They live and work in Yekaterinburg.
3
Lesson 3: A Journey through Nizhny Novgorod Art with Artem Filatov

July 25, Saturday
17:00–18:00
Artist and co-author of the book A Brief History of Nizhny Novgorod Street Art Artem Filatov invites participants to plunge into the context of contemporary street art in Nizhny Novgorod and make a virtual trip around Tikhaya studio to get acquainted with its residents, watch a silk screen printing machine in action and engage in an art project!

About the studio:

Tikhaya art studio brings together artists living and working in Nizhny Novgorod, including Aleksander Lavrov, Anton Morokov, Andrey Olenev, Elena Toptunova, Artem Filatov, Yakov Khorev, and Vladimir Chernyshev. Most of its residents are involved directly in the city’s street art processes, collaborate with Nizhny Novgorod-based and Russian galleries, and exhibit in Russia and internationally.

Artem Filatov
(b. 1991, Nizhny Novgorod) is an artist and curator. Author of installations and projects developed through the interaction with the history and cultural landscape of Nizhny Novgorod, including the festival Nizhny Novgorod: The Ancient (2014–2016) and the exhibition Back Home (2017). In 2019, Filatov and the artist Aleksey Korsi launched the project Sad im. (Garden named after) on the territory of the Nizhny Novgorod crematorium. Recipient of Garage Museum of Contemporary Art’s grant in support of emerging Russian artists (2016), a Cosmoscow Art Fair award, and winner of the All-Russian contemporary art competition Innovation Prize in the Regional Project nomination (2018). He lives and works in Nizhny Novgorod.

Artem Filatov
(b. 1991, Nizhny Novgorod) is an artist and curator. Author of installations and projects developed through the interaction with the history and cultural landscape of Nizhny Novgorod, including the festival Nizhny Novgorod: The Ancient (2014–2016) and the exhibition Back Home (2017). In 2019, Filatov and the artist Aleksey Korsi launched the project Sad im. (Garden named after) on the territory of the Nizhny Novgorod crematorium. Recipient of Garage Museum of Contemporary Art’s grant in support of emerging Russian artists (2016), a Cosmoscow Art Fair award, and winner of the All-Russian contemporary art competition Innovation Prize in the Regional Project nomination (2018). He lives and works in Nizhny Novgorod.

4
Lesson 4: Transformation of Elements into Art, with Gaysha Madanova

August 1, Saturday
17:00–18:00
During the workshop, participants will meet artist Gaysha Madanova and learn about her creative practice. Gaysha will explain how works can be present spatially and remain invisible to the viewer at the same time. She will also introduce them to the brain mapping technique, which she implements to create her artworks: brain mapping allows her to indicate objects and collect references on art practices and motives of interest. Together with the artist, participants will discuss historical art practices that have altered our view of art.

“In my art practice, I combine elements of diverse origins, transform them and change their original functions, be it the transformation of images from a museum collection into sound, a daily five-month-long broadcast of an artist’s dream in a museum, a 32-meter-long message about humanity’s hope for a better future on Mars which no one noticed, an art show that exists only in a magazine, or occupation of a public space with a guerilla poster and a T-shirt piercingly challenging the idea of “who” belongs to a particular society. As forms of intervention and work with space, these actions are parts of a strategy aimed at reimagining the outcomes of artistic production”.
Gaysha Madanova
is an artist working in a variety of mediums and techniques (including prints, digital media, and installation). Her scope of interest embraces the notion of observation, the body as an expression of the inner self, transformation and dislocation strategies. She is a graduate of the Faculty of Architecture of Almaty College of Construction and Management and Academy of Fine Arts Munich. Co-founder of the international art collective Artpologist and the first conceptual Kazakhstani art magazine ALUAN. Madanova took part in the independent program for young artists WHW Akademija (Zagreb) and exhibited at the 4th Moscow International Biennial of Young Art, Perm Museum of Contemporary Art (PERMM), and various shows in Europe, Central Asia, and South America. She lives and works in Germany.

Gaysha Madanova
is an artist working in a variety of mediums and techniques (including prints, digital media, and installation). Her scope of interest embraces the notion of observation, the body as an expression of the inner self, transformation and dislocation strategies. She is a graduate of the Faculty of Architecture of Almaty College of Construction and Management and Academy of Fine Arts Munich. Co-founder of the international art collective Artpologist and the first conceptual Kazakhstani art magazine ALUAN. Madanova took part in the independent program for young artists WHW Akademija (Zagreb) and exhibited at the 4th Moscow International Biennial of Young Art, Perm Museum of Contemporary Art (PERMM), and various shows in Europe, Central Asia, and South America. She lives and works in Germany.

1
Past lesson 1 : “Inventing a Metaphor” with Madina Zholdybekova

July 12, Sunday
17:00–18:00
What makes up the life of contemporary artists? Which topics do they choose to explore artistically? Participants will have the opportunity to “visit” an artist, learn more about them and their practice as well as make something with their own hands.

By blurring boundaries, the open online workshop format allows teens to find themselves in both places—Garage in Moscow and Tselinny in Almaty—simultaneously.

During the first session, hosted by the artist Madina Zholdybekova, participants will get acquainted with the notion of metaphor and try to implement it in illustration.

“Throughout the practical part, we will be trying to define the taste and color of metaphor, biting it from different sides and breathing in its smells. We will assemble a metaphor using cucumbers and tomatoes, squares and roundels, giraffes and cockerels. Participants will train their imagination muscles and learn to demonstrate curiosity for the world.”

HOW TO TAKE PART
Free with advance registration.
Sessions are in Russian.
Link to the Zoom session will be sent via the email indicated upon registration.
Teenagers aged 13–19 are invited to take part.
Class time is standard Almaty time.
Registration 40 seats
Madina Zholdybekova
artist and illustrator, author of illustrations for iPad games at Rocketfirm, and the cover of the popular science magazine for schoolchildren OYLA (which is published in Russia under the name Dumai (Think). Kazakhstan-born Madina previously lived in Instanbul and is currently based in Germany. She draws illustrations and comics “catching” characters in parks and cafes and is raising a son.
Madina Zholdybekova
artist and illustrator, author of illustrations for iPad games at Rocketfirm, and the cover of the popular science magazine for schoolchildren OYLA (which is published in Russia under the name Dumai (Think). Kazakhstan-born Madina previously lived in Instanbul and is currently based in Germany. She draws illustrations and comics “catching” characters in parks and cafes and is raising a son.
Subscribe for updates
Нажимая на кнопку, вы даете согласие
на обработку своих персональных данных

Garage x Tselinny Teen Weeks: онлайн-мастерские для подростков с казахстанскими и российскими художниками

2
Занятие 2: Театр под камерами с Анной и Виталием Черепановыми

18 июля, суббота
17:00 – 18:00
Художники Анна и Виталий Черепановы с 2014 года работают над проектом «Театр под камерами» — серией видео, снятых на городские веб-камеры (в 2019 году проект вошел в шорт-лист Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация»). Чаще всего эти видео документируют перформансы Черепановых, но иногда — действия других людей или животных, погодные условия или еще что-то.

На мастер-классе художники покажут свои видеоработы, расскажут больше о «Театре под камерами» и о том, как снять подобные ему видео, а также предложат несколько простых сценариев совместных действий/перформансов, которые можно создать при помощи программы Zoom. Через три дня все участники получат ссылку на смонтированное видеопроизведение.
Виталий и Анна Черепановы
работают совместно либо как самостоятельные авторы под разными псевдонимами (Cick in Dunt, группа «Тагил», «Юго-Запад», «Бесконечный Частный Сектор» и другие). В своей практике обращаются к таким медиа, как перформанс, видеоарт, инсталляция, стрит-арт, живопись. Известны самоорганизованными проектами с включением большого количества других художников, также работают как исследователи художественных сообществ и стрит-арта. Коллекционируют работы современных художников. Участники 4-й и 5-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале современного искусства (Екатеринбург, 2017 и 2019). Живут и работают в Екатеринбурге.

Виталий и Анна Черепановы
работают совместно либо как самостоятельные авторы под разными псевдонимами (Cick in Dunt, группа «Тагил», «Юго-Запад», «Бесконечный Частный Сектор» и другие). В своей практике обращаются к таким медиа, как перформанс, видеоарт, инсталляция, стрит-арт, живопись. Известны самоорганизованными проектами с включением большого количества других художников, также работают как исследователи художественных сообществ и стрит-арта. Коллекционируют работы современных художников. Участники 4-й и 5-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале современного искусства (Екатеринбург, 2017 и 2019). Живут и работают в Екатеринбурге.

3
Занятие 3: Путешествие по нижегородскому искусству с Артемом Филатовым

25 июля, суббота
17:00 – 18:00
Вместе с художником и соавтором книги «Краткая история нижегородского уличного искусства» Артемом Филатовым участники погрузятся в контекст современного нижегородского искусства и совершат виртуальное путешествие по мастерской «Тихая», где смогут познакомиться с ее резидентами, посмотреть на работу шелкографического станка и принять участие в художественном проекте.

О мастерской:

«Тихая» — это художественная мастерская, объединяющая живущих и работающих в Нижнем Новгороде художников: Александра Лаврова, Антона Морокова, Андрея Оленева, Елену Топтунову, Артема Филатова, Якова Хорева и Владимира Чернышева. Большинство резидентов мастерской непосредственно связаны с нижегородским уличным искусством, сотрудничают с нижегородскими и российскими галереями, принимают участие в выставочных проектах в России и за рубежом.
Артем Филатов
(род. 1991, Нижний Новгород) — художник, куратор. Автор объектов, инсталляций и проектов, построенных на взаимодействии с нижегородской историей и культурным ландшафтом, среди которых — фестиваль уличного искусства «Новый Город: Древний» (2014–2016) и выставка «Обратно домой» (2017). В 2019 году совместно с художником Алексеем Корси открыл проект «Сад им.» на территории нижегородского крематория. Лауреат грантовой программы Музея современного искусства «Гараж» для художников, работающих в сфере актуального искусства (2016), ярмарки Cosmoscow для молодых художников (2017) и Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация» в номинации «Региональный проект» (2018). Живет и работает в Нижнем Новгороде.
Артем Филатов
(род. 1991, Нижний Новгород) — художник, куратор. Автор объектов, инсталляций и проектов, построенных на взаимодействии с нижегородской историей и культурным ландшафтом, среди которых — фестиваль уличного искусства «Новый Город: Древний» (2014–2016) и выставка «Обратно домой» (2017). В 2019 году совместно с художником Алексеем Корси открыл проект «Сад им.» на территории нижегородского крематория. Лауреат грантовой программы Музея современного искусства «Гараж» для художников, работающих в сфере актуального искусства (2016), ярмарки Cosmoscow для молодых художников (2017) и Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация» в номинации «Региональный проект» (2018). Живет и работает в Нижнем Новгороде.
4
Занятие 4: Трансформация элементов в искусство с Гайшой Мадановой

1 августа, суббота
17:00 – 18:00
На занятии подростки познакомятся с художницей Гайшой Мадановой и ее творческой практикой. Гайша расскажет, как работы могут присутствовать в пространстве и в то же время быть незаметными для зрителя. Также художница познакомит участников с техникой брейнмеппинга, которую она применяет для создании своих произведений: брейнмеппинг позволяет индицировать предметы и собирать референсы на художественные практики и интересующие мотивы. Вместе с художницей участники также обсудят художественные практики из истории искусства, которые меняют взгляд на искусство.

«В своей художественной практике я объединяю элементы различного происхождения, преобразуя их и меняя их первоначальные функции, будь то трансформация изображений музейной коллекции в звук, ежедневная трансляция сна художника в музее на протяжении пяти месяцев, 32-метровое сообщение о надежде человечества о лучшем будущем на Марсе, которое никто не заметил, художественная выставка, которая существует только в журнале, или же оккупация общественного пространства с помощью партизанского плаката и футболки, резко ставящие под сомнение идею о том, кто “принадлежит” определенному обществу. Эти действия являются частью стратегии переосмысления художественной продукции в качестве интервенционистских форм и работы с пространством».

Гайша Маданова
Гайша Маданова — художница, работает с различными медиа и техниками (печать,
объекты, цифровые медиа, инсталляции). Ее интересуют темы наблюдения, тела как
выражения внутреннего «я», стратегии преобразований и смещений. Окончила
архитектурный факультет Алмаатинского колледжа строительства и менеджмента и
Мюнхенскую академию художеств. Сооновательница международного арт-коллектива
Artpologist и первого концептуального казахстанского журнала об искусстве ALUAN.
Участвовала в независимой программе для молодых художников WHW Akademija (Загреб).
Работы были представлены на 4-й Московской международной биеннале молодого
искусства, в Музее современного искусства PERMM (Пермь), а также на выставках в
разных городах Европы, Центральной Азии и Южной Америки. Живет и работает в
Германии.
Гайша Маданова

Гайша Маданова — художница, работает с различными медиа и техниками (печать ,объекты, цифровые медиа, инсталляции). Ее интересуют темы наблюдения, тела как выражения внутреннего «я», стратегии реобразований и смещений. Окончила архитектурный факультет алмаатинского колледжа строительства и менеджмента и Мюнхенскую академию художеств. Сооновательница международного арт-коллектива Artpologist и первого концептуального казахстанского журнала об искусстве ALUAN. Участвовала в независимой программе для молодых художников WHW Akademija (Загреб). Работы были представлены на 4-й Московской международной биеннале молодого

искусства, в Музее современного искусства PERMM (Пермь), а также на выставках в разных городах Европы, Центральной Азии и Южной Америки. Живет и работает в Германии.

1
Прошедшее занятие 1: «Как придумать метафору» с Мадиной Жолдыбековой

12 июля, воскресенье
17:00 – 18:00
Центр современной культуры «Целинный» совместно с Музеем «Гараж» запускает цикл открытых онлайн-мастерских для подростков. Чем живут современные художники? Как устроена их мастерская?Какие темы для своего творчества они выбирают? Участники смогут не только «прийти в гости» к художнику и познакомиться с ним лично, но и узнать больше о его художественной практике и сделать что-то собственными руками.

На первом занятии участники вместе с художницей Мадиной Жолдыбековой (@madikendraws) познакомятся с понятием метафоры и попробуют применить ее в иллюстрации.

«Мы будем пробовать метафору на вкус и на цвет, кусать ее с разных сторон и вдыхать ее запахи. Мы соберем метафору из помидоров и огурцов, из квадратов и кругляшков, из жирафов и петушков. Участники мастер-класса прокачают мышцы воображения и научатся проявлять любопытство к миру», – делится Мадина.

  • Для участия необходима зарегистрироваться по ссылке в профиле
  • Занятие проходит на русском языке
  • Ссылка на Zoom-конференцию будет выслана по указанной при регистрации почте
  • К участию приглашаются подростки 13 – 19 лет
Мадина Жолдыбекова
Мадина Жолдыбекова рисует в технике mixed media. В своих иллюстрациях осмысливает материнство, «келинство» и другие роли женщины в Казахстане, исследует свои отношения с государством, документирует окружающую действительность в скетчах. Работала для Rocket Firm Digital Agency, научно-популярного журнала OYLA, Mегаплан, Central Asian Youth Network ОБСЕ.

Мадина Жолдыбекова
художница-иллюстратор, рисовала картинки для iPad-игр в «Ракетной фирме» и обложки для научно-популярного журнала для школьников OYLA (издается в России как «Думай»). Мадина родом из Казахстана, жила в Стамбуле и теперь обитает в Германии. Она рисует иллюстрации и комиксы, ловит персонажей в кафе и парках и растит сына.
Подписывайтесь на обновления
Нажимая на кнопку, вы даете согласие
на обработку своих персональных данных